Links of Interest

Consumer Health

Genealogy

Government

Homework Help

Job Searching

Reference

Government

Federal

www.usa.gov
–Search for government information and agencies

www.ssa.gov
–Social Security Administration

www.sba.gov
–Small Business Administration

www.bensguide.gop.gov
–Government information writer for children

www.state.gov
–U.S. State Department.  Includes travel and county information.

www.loc.gov
–Library of Congress

www.census.gov
– access to historical documents, military records, educational and genealogical resources

State

www.pa.gov
– website for the state of Pennsylvania and its agencies

www.legis.state.pa.us
– Find your state legislators, statutes, state constitution, House & Senate bills, etc.

www.dot.state.pa.us
– (PennDOT) renew licenses, registrations, etc.

www.health.state.pa.us
– request death and birth certificates, search death indices

County

www.cambriacountypa.gov
–Find listing for Cambria County Courthouse offices; request marriage licenses & divorce decrees.  Also, birth and death records from 1893 to January 1906

www.co.somerset.pa.us
–Find listings for Somerset County government offices

www.countyofindiana.org
–Find listings for Indiana County government offices

City

www.cityofjohnstownpa.net
–A directory of city offices, ordinances, forms & employment opportunities

Homework Help

Acronym Finder
—A dictionary of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.

American Rhetoric
—Database of speeches, sermons, lectures, etc.

AskHerePA
—Chat live, with a librarian.

Ben’s Guide to the U. S. Government
—Student portal to government information.

www.dictionary.com

www.digitalhistory.uh.edu
—Database of resources about history.

E-how
—Instructions on how to do just about anything.

Encyclopedia online

How Things are made
—Explains how things are made.

Library of Congress
—Portal to the Library of Congress and its holdings.

Math Help

Mirriam-Webster Online
—Searchable online dictionary.

Nation Master
—Information on nations of the world.

National Atlas
—Offers maps by region as well as type.

National Weather Service
—Provides weather forecasts.

New York Times Article Archive 1851-1995
—Archives of New York Times newspaper.

Urban Legends Reference Pages

Snopes
—Offers insight into rumors, gossip, and misinformation

Truth or Fiction
—Offers insight into rumors, gossip, and misinformation

 

Check out these helpful sites on the Library’s homepage (you must have a library card to access these databases)

Power Library– a wealth of state sponsored web sites

Mango Languages – help with foreign languages

AtoZ USA-current information on the 50 United States

Global Road Warrior– Current information on other countries

America’s News-Newspapers and information from around the world

Job Searching

AtoZdatabases

Careers Internet Database

ReferenceUSA

Cypress Resume

Career Link

Glassdoor

America’s Job Bank – www.ajb.dni.us

Bureau of State Employment (non-civil service) – www.employment.pa.gov

Career Builder – www.careerbuilder.com

Careers.Org – www.careers.org

Career Shop – www.careershop.com

Dice.com – www.dice.com

Direct Employers – www.directemployers.com

Diversity, Inc. – www.diversityinc.com

Federal Jobs – www.usajobs.opm.gov

Flip Dog – www.flipdog.com

Groove Jobs (part – time) – www.groovejobs.com

Hire PA – www.hiringpa.com

Idealist.Org – www.idealist.org

Indeed.com – www.indeed.com

Job.com – www.job.com

Job Bank USA – www.jobbankusa.com

Job Hunters Bible – www.jobhuntersbible.com

Job Sites – www.job-sites.com

Job Searching – www.jobsearch.about.com

Jobster – www.jobster.com

Jobverstise – www.jobvertise.com

Job Web – www.jobweb.com

Johnstown Help Wanted – www.johnstownhelpwanted.com

Marcellus Shale Jobs – www.marcelluscoalition.org/site/jobs.html

Marriott Hotels – www.marriott.com

Mary Kay Cosmetics – www.marykay.com/mpinkowski

Maxim Health Careers – www.maxhealth.com

Med Hunters – Medical Jobs – www.medhunters.com

MedCo Health – www.medcohealth.com

Medical Temp Services – www.medtempservices.com

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. – www.metlife.com

Michael’s Craft Store – www.michaels.com

Monro Muffler & Brake – www.monro.com

Monster – www.monster.com

Nation Job Network – www.nationjob.com

Neuvoo – www.neuvoo.com

OSHA – www.osha.gov

PennDOT – www.dot.state.pa.us

PA Career Link – www.cwds.state.pa.us

PA Homepage – www.state.pa.us

Peace Corps – www.peacecorps.gov

Red Cross – www.redcrosslife.org

Retail Jobs – www.allretailjobs.com

Sam’s Club – www.samsclub.com

Schwanns, Inc. – www.schwansjobs.com

Sears – www.sears.com

Security Cleared Professionals – www.clearedconnections.com

Sheetz Stores – www.sheetz.com

Skills Group of Central PA  – www.skillsofcentralpa.org

Smith Transport – www.smithtransport.com

Staples – www.staples.com

State Farm Ins. Co. – www.statefarm.com

Snag a Job – www.snagajob.com

Top USA Jobs (medical) – www.topusajobs.com

Tribune – Democrat – www.tribune-democrat.com

State Civil Service – www.scsc.state.pa.us

State Jobs – www.statejobs.com

True Careers (professionals) – www.truecareers.com

US Army Corp of Engineer – www.nab.usace.army.mil

 

Reference

Of Local Interest

Cambria County Area Agency on Aging

Cambria County Literacy Council, Inc.

Cambria County, PA

City of Johnstown

Greater Johnstown Chamber of Commerce

JohnstownPA.com

PA Visitors Network – Cambria County

County Newspapers

Mainline newspapers
The Cresson Mainliner, The Mountaineer-Herald,
The Nanty Glo Journal, The Portage Dispatch and
The Star Courier

Our Town

Tribune-Democrat

 

Schools and Universities

Bishop McCort High School

Conemaugh Valley School District

Ferndale Area School District

Greater Johnstown School District

Greater Johnstown Career and Technology Center

Westmont Hilltop School District

Pennsylvania Highlands Community College

Mt. Aloysius College

St. Francis University

University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown

Fun Stuff

Gallery of Digital Images

Great Web Sites for Kids

How Stuff Works

NGS – National Geographic Online

The Ultimate Collection of Winsock Software

 

Search Engines

Ask

Bing

Dogpile

Google

Lycos

Yahoo!

 

Libraries

Cambria County Library Web Catalog

Cambria County Library System Federated Catalog

The Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh

Free Library of Philadelphia

Library of Congress

 

Librarians’ Choices for Reference Information

AtoZdatabases

BookWire – The First Place to Look for Book Information

GCF LearnFree – Computer Basics Tutorials

IPL Reference Center

Juvenile and YA Series Titles

Online Conversion Chart

Project Gutenberg

SparkNotes Study Guides

ThinkFinity (Thousands of free lesson plans and educational resources for teachers)

What’s Next Database of Kent District Library (MI)
–an online list of books in series

 

Librarians’ Choices for PA and US Information

Americans with Disabilities Act Homepage

Census Bureau Fast Facts

Census Information for Pennsylvania

Center for Rural Pennsylvania

FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid)

Here To Help–PA Resources During Tough Economic Times

Issues PA

Organ Donation in Pennsylvania

PA Housing Search

Pennsylvania Public Records

Social Security

Team PA Career Link

Trulia Johnstown Real Estate Overview
 Home Buying Guide

U.S. Government Information

 

Teaching and Higher Education guides

Teacher Degrees.com

Masters in Educaton Guide

Resources & Tools

Reach Us

248 Main Street
Johnstown, PA 15901-1677

Leave A Message

6 + 10 =

The library will be closed November 26th and 27th for the Thanksgiving Holiday
+ +