News & Updates

We Need Your Support!

Greetings! As autumn approaches, we welcome our annual fundraising initiative for the Ebensburg Cambria Public Library. As a community driven facility for all ages, we are proud that in 2019 our Library provided 113 programs to over 1,800 attendees. This doubles the...

U

Can't Find It?

Can’t find it after searching the Cambria County Library Systems’ catalogs? You can now search and place holds at the following locations: Blair County Library System and Lackawanna County Library System

Our Events

Wed 28

Outdoor Book Club

October 28 @ 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Wed 28

Book Club

October 28 @ 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Thu 29

Happy Tales with Haley

October 29 @ 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Nov 05

Happy Tales with Haley

November 5 @ 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Nov 09

Board Meeting

November 9 @ 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Nov 12

Happy Tales with Haley

November 12 @ 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Nov 19

Happy Tales with Haley

November 19 @ 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Nov 25

Outdoor Book Club

November 25 @ 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Nov 25

Book Club

November 25 @ 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Dec 03

Happy Tales with Haley

December 3 @ 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Check back soon for more programs and events!
October 27, 2020

HOURS OF OPERATION

Sunday: 11:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Monday: 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Tuesday: 3:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Wednesday: Closed
Thursday: 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Friday: 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Saturday: Closed

Available Amenities

Wi-Fi
Public Computers
Printing, Copying, and Scanning
After Hours Book Drop
Faxing
Public Restrooms

Staff Picks

The One and Only Bob

The One and Only Bob

This is a great sequel for fans of Kathleen Applegate's The One and Only Ivan. The touching story of the life happenings of Bob the dog, and how he deals with them.

The Other Mrs.

The Other Mrs.

Coming soon to Netflix, Mary Kubica's psychological thriller has many twist and turns and keeps the reader guessing until the very end.

Our History

The Ebensburg Cambria Public Library was formed in 1923, when the citizens of the Ebensburg area organized its first public library. The library formally opened its doors on May 19, 1923 in the YMCA building. The stacks were filled with both donated and purchased books.

Volunteers kept the library doors open on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 1923 until 1928. It was then in 1928, when Miss Edna Lehman was hired as the first Library Director.

In 1950, the library purchased a house a long East High Street. In addition to stacks of books, there was also room for reading, study tables, an office, and storage space.

An additional move for the library came in 1960 when a large space was made available in the newly remodeled Borough Building on West High Street.

Mrs. Jones served in this position until 1975, then Mrs. Mitzi Shamble took over until 1988. In 1988, Marcia Springer, who assisted Mrs. Shamble, became the community’s fourth Library Director.

 

In 1994, the Library Board of Trustees faced a growing collection and new space requirements in order to meet the future needs of the community. Discussions began on a proposal to construct a new public library to better serve Ebensburg Borough and Cambria Township. The land, which is adjacent to the old Central Cambria Middle School, was donated by the Central Cambria School District. Construction for the new library began in the spring of 1998 and on December 8, 1998 the new library building was ready to serve its first patrons. This new attractive structure was ready to serve the community well into the future.

The year 2000 brought many changes to the library. Miss Springer retired in January and Mrs. Mary Ann Miller was named her replacement. The library’s collection also became automated and all computers became Internet accessible.

Mrs. Miller held the Library Director position until 2008. She was succeeded by Mrs. Jonna Nesbella, who served in the position until 2011. The Library Director position was then accepted by Mrs. Mary Makin, who served as Director until 2018. In December 2018, Mrs. Jennifer Link was appointed as the new Library Director.

As the Ebensburg Cambria Public Library continues to grow, it is ready to continue meeting the needs of the community.

Resources & Tools

Reach Us

225 W. Highland Ave.
Ebensburg, PA 15931‐1127

Leave A Message

10 + 7 =